Advice Needed

As I transition into this new and unknown stage of life… becoming a teacher, I find that I am often overwhelmed with the reality that I have the potential to greatly influence the mind and childhood experience of a young person.

To be honest…

It is a little (extremely) terrifying…

I know I will make mistakes, which I can learn and grow from. I will have my ups and my downs.

But… it is scary to think that my mistakes have the potential to impact the lives of others – that feels like a huge and heavy responsibility…. am I over thinking things?

I have taught before… I have taught teachers…. university students.. and even young elementary students.

But never in the context of a true preservice educator, only ever as a guest… an ‘expert’ in a topic…

How does one overcome the fear of failure?…

…Advice?

7 thoughts on “Advice Needed

  1. I am notorious for over thinking things too, Sarah. I think the bottom line is that if you are yourself and are able to admit when you make a mistake, then it becomes an opportunity to teach and learn and grow with your students. Listen to their words, read their little faces and you will know what to do. You have a kind heart and a thoughtful brain. Everything else can be learned. You only fail when you stop learning.

    1. “you only fail when you stop learning” — that one is going to stick.
      Thanks Diana… it is good to know I am not the only ‘over thinker’ out there. This transition can be intimidating, but it is nice to know I am not alone in the process

  2. You know, that is difficult. When I first started teaching, I was told that you have to always look strong and don’t let the students see an opening. I don’t know if that is true after you have their respect, but when you first step into the classroom, I think it has merit. The second big lesson I was taught was to always be prepared. The best lessons are those that you are comfortable with. Be organized and have a plan. The more worried you are, the more practiced and organized you have to be. The best classroom management tip is to be organized and well planned.

    Also, don’t forget, you aren’t going into this alone. Even after we graduate you will have a nice strong lesson. If you are worried about content, ask someone with more expertise than you to check over your plan. If you don’t know the answer to a question, be organized and tell the student to write down the question and put it in a “question box”. You can always fact check later. And if you are truly nervous, have your first “lesson” be on being nervous. Be honest with your kids a bit, and say, “I am a bit nervous, what makes you nervous?” It could lead to a fun discussion where you learn a bit about your students.

    Always, have fun.

    1. Thanks for your thoughts and advice Dale πŸ™‚
      I definitely think it is okay for you as an educator to be honest with your students if you do not know something, I think it shoes them that we are human… we all make mistakes. πŸ™‚

  3. When I’ve made mistakes they have sometimes turned into amazing teaching moments with the kids. Learning from our mistakes and failures means we are growing!

  4. Promise me you will not spend so much time treading water and trying to keep your head above the waves that you forget, truly forget, how much you have always loved to swim | Tyler Knott Gregson

    Love you, Sarah! You are a bright spot in many people’s lives. Don’t forget to just dive in there and swim!

    -Lindsay
    (http://girlinlike.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

