Mind Blown by MindUp

Mind Blown by MindUp! Working to build mindfulness, emotional intelligence and resilience in students! Ah HOW INSPIRING!

Today I had the incredible opportunity to be trained in MindUp – a curriculum rooted in Social & Emotional Learning (SEL) which aims to help students understand how their minds work and how emotions impact their learning

MindUp infuses academic learning with the promotion of self awareness by giving students a sense of control over their state of mind. The curriculum gives opportunity for students to develop strategies to ‘quiet the mind’, resulting in,  increased clarity and problem solving ability when faced with stress and therefore increased RESILIENCE. 

– My goodness how I could have benefitted from the MindUp strategies growing up!

MindUp recognizes the need to provide students with skills and strategies to be aware of self and to be mindful of their their emotions. It is about educating for student overall well-being as an avenue for academic success and social development. It makes links to brain physiology, the power of our senses, living with optimism, gratitude and kindness!

As I am a student in the Social & Emotional cohort I have observed throughout my BEd experience that there is a push to develop pro-social behaviour within the classroom and that “21st Century” learning highlights the importance of developing emotional intelligence – MindUp being an incredible launch pad for this movement in the classroom!

What is so amazing about the MindUp Curriculum is that it is not a single entity that taught alone, it is meant to be infused and integrated into teaching practices. I hope that one day these practices of de-stressing become infused into society and normalized, so many individuals move through life at such a pace that the value of life experience pass them by.

De-stress…recognize the beauty of life, spread kindness — make the world a happier place.

Education is the front line for these positive movements. So I am jumping on board!

If you haven’t checked it out already! Here is the MindUp site! http://thehawnfoundation.org/mindup/

About sedalzell6

Educator & Explorer
This entry was posted in Purposeful Professional Development, Social and Emotional Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mind Blown by MindUp

  1. girlinlike says:

    Sarah, darling, your enthusiasm for life and learning is contagious!!! Keep it up girlfriend!

  2. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  3. Hey Sarah , it’s really easy to see the amazing value of programs like this. I hope that you take out of this what you need for your teaching toolbox. They will make your days in the classroom a better one because you made a difference with that “one” kid …

    By the way that “one” kid will tell their kids who their favourite teacher was. It was that one teacher that took time to talk to and understand them, that teacher who took agency to develop herself professionally and truly cared about the kids she taught, not just content to, but important skills that made them take agency for their own learning…and probably fun as hell!

    Educate safely!

  4. I’m neither a teacher nor a parent, but I care a lot about children’s emotional happiness. That’s why I’m trying to spread the word about the Hawn Foundation too.
    Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

  5. server proxy says:

    When I first saw this title Mind Blown by MindUp | Ms. Dalzell on google I just whent and bookmark it. I think this is a real great post.Really looking forward to read more. Really Great.

  6. Awesome! Its really remarkable post, I have got much clear idea
    concerning from this post.

  7. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around
    your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  8. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  9. Helena says:

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks,
    However I am experiencing issues with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I can’t
    join it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

    • sdalzell says:

      Hi Helena! Thanks so much for reading my article! I actually have NO idea why the RSS is being weird, I will look into and hopefully fix the issue!

      Sarah

  10. Kizzy says:

    Thanks for finally talking about >Mind Blown by MindUp | Rooted in Education <Liked it!

Leave a Reply

